郡會堂

歷史

倫敦郡會堂是一座宏偉的愛德華巴洛克式建築,由拉爾夫·諾特(Ralph Knott)設計。主體工程於1911年開始,雖然因為戰爭的關係,導致建築工程中斷,但郡會堂在1939年初步完工前,於1922年由當時的英國國王喬治五世(George V)正式啟用,在隨後的幾十年裡,增設了更多項目。

郡會堂位於泰晤士河南岸,可以俯瞰議會大廈和大笨鐘(Big Ben)等重要地標。在作為行政辦公室的整個歷史中,該建築不僅被視為施政中心的有形象徵,更可與泰晤士河畔其他重要地點相媲美,如薩默塞特府(Somerset House)和西敏宮(Palace of Westminster)。

在過去64年的時間裡,郡會堂一直是倫敦市政府的總部。為確保效率和有效的管理,在保持外觀設計的同時,內部採用最優質的材料精製而成,以維持莊重感。然而,1986年,大倫敦會議被廢除,使這座建築變得多餘。在接下來的幾年中,郡會堂的宗旨發生了變化,經過多次辯論,其引以為傲的外觀和精心設計的布局都證明了是能被廣泛運用的寶貴資產。

於1992年,此建築最終被新的投資者收購,且對場地做進一步的開發,其中公園廣場西敏橋飯店的建造工程於2010年完工,並對大型場所進行其他改造。現在郡會堂集結了一些餐廳、活動空間和備受家庭歡迎的景點。

The history of

County hall

London County Hall is a grand Edwardian Baroque style building designed by Ralph Knott. The main construction began in 1911, and although wartime caused a hiatus in the building's development, County Hall was officially opened by King George V in 1922 ahead of its initial completion in 1939, with further portions being added over the following decades.

Positioned on the south bank of the River Thames, County Hall overlooks significant landmarks such as the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. Throughout its history as an administrative office, the building was regarded not only as a tangible symbol of the centre of governance, but also an architectural rival to other significant Thames-side locations such as Somerset House and the Palace of Westminster.

 

For sixty-four years, County Hall served as the headquarters for the metropolitan government of London. Its interior was crafted from the finest materials in order to uphold an unwavering sense of decorum while maintaining a design that would ensure swift and efficient administration. However, in 1986, the abolition of the Greater London Council left the magnificent building redundant. Over the following years, County Hall’s purpose was changed and put up for debate many times, its proud facade and well-crafted layout proving to be a valuable asset across a range of uses.

In 1992, the building was finally acquired by new investors and the site underwent further redevelopments, with construction of the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge hotel reaching completion in 2010 among other changes to the expansive venue. County Hall is now home to a number of specialist restaurants, event spaces and highly popular family attractions.